What is LLSA?

Lifelong Learning and Self Assessment (LLSA) is one of the four components of the “maintenance of certification” process established in 1999 by the American Board of Medical Specialities (ABMS). As it pertains to the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM), LLSA was designed to promote continuous learning by ABEM diplomats.

ABEM facilitates this learning by identifying an annual set of 10-15 readings based on the EM Model to guide diplomats in self-study of recent EM literature. The readings are designed as study tools and should be read critically. They are not intended to be all-inclusive and are not meant to define the standard of care for the clinical practice of EM. The new readings will be posted on the ABEM Website annually.

A 20-30 question test will be available each year in April and will remain online for three years. All diplomats must score 85% to pass the test (three attempts total are allowed at no additional cost). Diplomats must successfully take and pass 8 of 9 LLSA exams in order to be eligible to take ConCert, the recertification exam, every ten years.

LLSAPrep is designed to make this process painless by offering a review that is efficient,  convenient, fun, affordable and guarantees you will pass!




Keep updated on your ABEM requirements by liking us on Facebook!

About Us


Online Courses


On-site Courses


Customer Feedback

"Just passed LLSA. Really LOVED the experience! Thank you so much. Will pass it on to doc-friends the wonderful experience."